Amey receives two RoSPA gold and three President’s awards

Tottie Faragher, Senior Media & External Affairs Manager
15 April 2020
We're a #RoSPAWinner banner.
Contact the Press Office

The Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA) has awarded Amey two gold awards to recognise the outstanding work and continual improvements being made across all aspects of health, safety and wellbeing in Amey’s Transport Infrastructure (Highways) and Secure Infrastructure businesses. 

Amey Consulting and Rail have both been awarded the RoSPA President’s Award for winning 11 consecutive Gold Medals, and ALC (Amey’s Joint Venture which deploy and maintain C Vehicles for the Ministry of Defence) has also been awarded the RoSPA President’s Award for winning 10 consecutive Gold Medals. 

Organisations receiving a RoSPA Award are recognised as being world-leaders in health and safety practices. Every year, nearly 2,000 entrants compete to achieve the highest possible accolade in what is the UK’s longest-running health and safety industry awards. 

Gary BootonGroup HSEQ Director at Amey, said: “Being recognised by RoSPA for these awards is a fantastic achievement and a testament to the hard work and importance our people give to safety and wellbeing, to make sure that everyone is safe and well while at work. 

“Now more than ever before, as we serve the country as critical workers during the coronavirus pandemic, our robust health and safety practices ensure that our people working on the frontline will return home safe and well at the end of their working day.  

“The safety of our people will always be our number one priority and we will continue to build on this fantastic achievement.” 

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of qualifications, awards and events, said: “The RoSPA Awards scheme is the longest-running of its kind in the UK, but it receives entries from organisations around the world, making it one of the most sought-after global accolades in health and safety. 

RoSPA wants every employee, wherever they are, to work safe in the knowledge that they will be going home unharmed and healthy at the end of every day. The RoSPA Award winners are vital to help achieve this goal, as by entering they are driving up standards and setting new benchmarks for organisations everywhere. Currently, around 7million people are directly impacted by the RoSPA Awards, but the scheme’s influence is even wider.” 

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Gold medals, President’s awards, orders of distinction and the Patron’s Award are presented to organisations sustaining the high standards of the gold level over consecutive years.  

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 24 industry sectors, including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.  

There are specialist awards for health at workenvironmental management; safety delivered outside of the workplace; and fleet safety, and excellence trophies for the best international organisationnew entry; workforce involvement; leisure organisation; and organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.  

Headline sponsor of the RoSPA Awards 2020 is NEBOSH – the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health – for the 15th consecutive year.  

For more information about the RoSPA Awards visit 

Contact the
press office

+44 (0) 1865 713 240

Please note that the press office phone lines are for journalists and members of the press only, for any other enquiry, please use the general enquiry contacts.