Amey collects RoSPA awards for health and safety practices

05 July 2018
Two Amey employees in PPE, inspecting a document,
Contact the Press Office

Amey has received prestigious awards in recognition of its practices and achievements in helping its employees, clients and contractors get home safely at the end of the working day.

The internationally renowned RoSPA (Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents) Health and Safety Awards are the longest-running industry awards scheme in the UK. Amey’s Consulting, Rail and Utilities businesses each received Gold Medal awards – which are given to organisations with between 5 and 9 consecutive gold awards. Its Highways business also received a silver award.

They were presented with the award during a ceremony at Hilton Birmingham Metropole hotel on Wednesday, July 4, 2018.

The RoSPA Awards scheme, which receives entries from organisations around the world, recognises achievement in health and safety management systems, including practices such as leadership and workforce involvement.

Gary Booton, Group HSEQ Director of Amey, said: “I am delighted that we have again been recognised with so many prestigious RoSPA awards. Safety is one of our core values and this continued recognition clearly demonstrates our commitment to the safety and health of anybody undertaking work on behalf of the business. We will not rest until we have eliminated all incidents of harm across our entire organisation. These awards are a credit to the hard work and diligence of all our employees, and encourage them to go further in our quest for zero harm.”

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of qualifications, awards and events, said: “The RoSPA Awards are the most highly-respected in the health and safety arena, with almost 2,000 entrants every year, and allow organisations to prove excellence in the workplace, demonstrating a commitment to the wellbeing of not only employees but all those who interact with it.”

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Gold medals, president’s awards, orders of distinction and the Patron’s Award are presented to organisations sustaining the high standards of the gold level over consecutive years.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 24 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.

There are specialist awards for health at work, environmental management and fleet safety, and excellence trophies for the best international, new entry, workforce involvement and organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

For more information about the RoSPA Awards visit

Contact the
press office

+44 (0) 1865 713 240

Please note that the press office phone lines are for journalists and members of the press only, for any other enquiry, please use the general enquiry contacts.